Louisiana Stalking Laws

Code Section
14:40.2

Defined As
Willful, malicious, and repeated following or harassing with intent to place in fear of death or bodily injury

Punishment/Classification
Maximum 1 year jail and $1000 fine. If had dangerous weapon: fine $1,000 and/or jail 1 year. If stalking and protective order for same victim, or criminal proceeding for stalking victim or injunction: jail 90 days minimum and 2 years maximum and/or fined maximum $5,000. If victim under 18, maximum 1 year and/or $2000 fine. Note: anyone over 13 who stalks a child 12 and under and is found to have placed child in reasonable fear of death or bodily injury of family member shall be punished by 1 year minimum, 3 years maximum in jail and/or $1,500 minimum, $5,000 maximum fine

Repeat Offense
If 2nd within 7 years: jail minimum 180 days and maximum 3 years and/or fined maximum $5,000. If 3rd or subsequent within 7 years: jail minimum 2 years and maximum 5 years and/or fined maximum $5,000

Arrest or Restraining Order Specifically Authorized by Statute?
None

Constitutionally Protected Activities Exempted?
Yes


Inside Louisiana Stalking Laws