Any sex offender who enters the state of Wyoming with the purpose of residing, working or going to school must register with the Sheriff’s Office in the county where they will be residing, working or going to school, within three working days of entering the state, in accordance with the Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act needs to register. Any sex offender visiting Wyoming, and being within the state of Wyoming for more than three (3) consecutive days is also required to register.
The offender shall be photographed, fingerprinted and palm printed by the registering entity or another law enforcement agency and shall provide the following additional information when registering:
(i) Name, including any aliases ever used;
(iii) Date and place of birth;
(iv) Social security number;
(v) Place of employment;
(vi) Date and place of conviction;
(vii) Crime for which convicted;
(viii) The name and location of each educational institution in this state at which the person is employed or attending school;
(ix) The license plate number and a description of any vehicle owned or operated by the offender;
(x) A DNA sample. As used in this paragraph, “DNA” means as defined in W.S. 7-19-401(a)(vi).
(xi) The age of the victim.
Diana Fisher, Program Manager, Wyoming Sex Offender Registry
Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act – W.S. 7-19-301 through 7-19-308.
The Wyoming Department of Criminal Investigation (DCI) within the Wyoming Office of the Attorney General.
Timeframe for Registration:
Registration is required from any sex offender who is physically present within Wyoming for three (3) or more consecutive days.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
A person who knowingly fails to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, or both.
A person convicted of a subsequent violation of knowingly failing to register as required by W.S. 7-19-302 is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, or both.
The information collected under this act shall be confidential and disseminated only in accordance with the provisions of the act. Any person who willfully discloses such information is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment for not more than six months, a fine of not more than seven hundred and fifty dollars or both.