The individuals convicted of a sexually violent offense or of attempt to commit a sexually violent offense are required to register. An individual convicted of an equivalent offense where the conviction occurred in another state, territory, federal court, the District of Columbia or where the individual was sentenced by court martial, or where the individual was required to register under a sexual offender statute in the jurisdiction where they were convicted, and the individual: resides in Pennsylvania; or is employed or is a student in Pennsylvania needs to register. Juveniles are not required to register unless they are convicted in adult court or they are required to register as a sex offender in another jurisdiction.
Information collected includes aliases, identifying factors such as photo and fingerprints; scars, marks, and tattoos; race, gender, and ethnicity; SSN; date of birth; address and employment; Vehicle information, collect criminal history of the offender, documentation of treatment received for mental abnormality or personality disorder.
The Pennsylvania State Police, Megan’s Law Section.
Timeframe for Registration:
Offenders must register with the Pennsylvania State Police upon release from incarceration, upon parole from a state or county correctional facility or upon the commencement of a sentence of intermediate punishment or probation. Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of residence or establishment of an additional residence(s). Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of employer or employment location. Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of any change of institution or location at which the offender is enrolled as a student, or termination of enrollment. Offenders are required to notify the Pennsylvania State Police within 48 hours of becoming employed or enrolled as a student if the offender has not previously provided that information to the Pennsylvania State Police. Offenders are required to register with the appropriate law enforcement authorities in another state within 48 hours of establishing a residence in another state.
Offenders moving to Pennsylvania are required to report to an approved registration site within 48 hours of arriving in Pennsylvania all required information.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
Sexual Offenders subject to the ten-year registration period who fail to comply with Megan’s Law commit an offense graded as a felony. Sexually Violent Predators and Sexual Offenders subject to registration for their lifetime who fail to comply with Megan’s Law commit an offense graded as a felony. The grading of the felony offense ranges from a felony of the third degree to a felony of the first degree based upon subsequent convictions, registration classification (i.e.: 10 year registrant, Lifetime Registrant, or Sexually Violent Predator) and the offender’s criminal history record.