The provisions of the Sex Offenders Registration Act apply to any person residing, working, or attending school within the State of Oklahoma who has been convicted or received any probationary term for the commission or attempt to commit certain sex crimes* in the state after November 1, 1989, or who entered the state on or after November 1, 1989, having previously been convicted or received a suspended or deferred sentence for a crime or attempted crime which if committed or attempted in this state would be a crime as provided in the following section. A probationary term rendered by an Oklahoma court includes deferred sentences. Sentences rendered outside the Oklahoma judicial system include those from any court of another state, a federal court, an Indian tribal court or a military court.
New Law as of Nov 01, 2008: Registered sex offenders cannot reside within a 2000 ft of a public or private school site, educational institution, playground, park that is established in whole or in part by city, county, state. federal or tribal government, or licensed child care center as defined by DHS.
Information collected includes names and Aliases, DNA sample, Fingerprints, photo, physical description, date of birth, criminal history, place of employment, vehicle registration date of birth, gender and relation of all people who reside in the same house as the offender, Age of victim, Current and previous address, list of all incarcerations/hospitalizations for the sex offense.
Lawana Hamrick, Coordinator
Sex and Violent Offender Registration Unit
3400 N. Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73111
State Department of Corrections, local law enforcement.
Timeframe for Registration:
Registered sex offenders are required to notify the Department of Corrections and local law enforcement no less than 3 business days prior to abandoning or moving from the address of the previous registration – within 3 days of release or being convicted or receiving a suspended sentence, or 3 days of entering state. Offender must register with local law enforcement where the person resides or intends to reside for 7 consecutive days or longer, must register within 3 days.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
Felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine.