In Ohio, a person who is convicted of a sexually violent offense and is found by the sentencing court to be a sexual predator. Habitual sex offender is a person previously convicted of one or more sexually oriented offenses and sentencing judge determines community notification is necessary for that individual. The act applies to anyone released after January 1, 1997 regardless of when the individual was sentenced. Ohio has adopted the AWA Legislation. Offenders have been placed into a Tier category. Tier 1 (the old Sexually Oriented Offender), Tier 2 (the old Habitual Sexual Offender), and Tier 3 (the old Sexual Predator). The AWA designations took effect Jan. 1, 2008.
Information collected includes fingerprints, photo, DNA and criminal history, vehicle registration information.
OHLEG (Ohio Law Enforcement Gateway) helpdesk at 1 (866) 406-4534
Email [email protected]
State Bureau of Criminal Investigations, local Sheriff Offices.
Timeframe for Registration:
Within 3 days of entering any county; 3 days of changing address.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
If convicted of a misdemeanor, the charge for failure to register is a misdemeanor. If convicted of a felony, the charge for failure to register is a felony.