Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Michigan

All persons convicted of one of the listed offenses on or after October 1, 1995 (when the SOR legislation took effect) and those persons who were convicted prior to that date who were still incarcerated, on parole or probation for that offense on 10/01/95 must be registered. All offenders are entered locally by a probation/parole agent or criminal justice agency that dealt with the offender. Offenders must be registered after conviction, and prior to sentencing.

Information collected includes name, aliases, race, sex, DOB, current street address, height, weight, hair and eye color, place of birth, social security number, conviction information, blood type, DNA profiles when available and digitized photo. FBI number (fingerprints), SID number, prison number, Drivers license number or State ID number, campus name, location, and student or campus employment status.

Contact Person:

Sex Offender Registration
Phone: (517) 322-5098 Fax: (517) 322-4957

Administrating Agency:

State Police, local law enforcement.

Timeframe for Registration:

Registered prior to sentencing, undated upon release; within 14 days of residing in state; 10 days of changing address.

Penalties for Non-Compliance:

Failure to register is a felony – up to 4 years imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine; probation/parole or youthful trainee status revoked; Failure to change address is a felony – up to 4 years imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine. Failure to comply with verification duties is a misdemeanor – up to 93 days and/or $1,000 fine; Failure to sign the registration form(s) is a misdemeanor – up to 93 days and/or $1,000 fine.  This is for the first conviction.

After January 1, 2006a second conviction is a 1 year misdemeanor and a third conviction is a felony; Failure to sign the registration form(s) is a misdemeanor – up to 93 days and/or $1,000 fine.  Failure to pay a fee is a 90-day misdemeanor.  Failure to report campus duties is a four year felony.

Confidentiality Provision:

A person who divulges, uses, or publishes registration information is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and/or up to $500 fine. An offender whose registration is revealed has a civil cause of action against the responsible party.

http://www.mipsor.state.mi.us


Inside Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Michigan