Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Massachusetts

Pursuant to Chapter 6, section 178C of the Massachusetts General Laws, a person is required to register as a sex offender if s/he resides, works or attends an institution of higher learning in the Commonwealth and who has been convicted of a sex offense, or who has been adjudicated as a youthful offender or as a delinquent juvenile by reason of a sex offense, or a person released from incarceration or parole or probation supervision or custody with the Department of Youth Services for such a conviction or adjudication, or a person who has been adjudicated a sexually dangerous person or a person released from civil commitment on or after August 1, 1981.

Information collected includes Fingerprints and a photograph, date and place of birth, sex, race, height, weight, eye and hair color, SSN, primary and secondary addresses, employment addresses and if the sex offender attends an institution of higher learning, the name and address of the institution, other known names, physical description, date of conviction and the offense or offenses for which he was convicted or adjudicated delinquent.

Administrating Agency:

Sex Offender Registry Board

Contact Person:

The public may call the Sex Offender Registry Board directly at 978-740-6400 or 1-800-93-MEGAN (1-800-936-3426).

Timeframe for Registration:

Incarcerated sex offenders must register two days before being released from incarceration.  Moreover, all sex offenders must register by notifying the Board of his/her current and new address by mail at least 10 days prior to moving to a different city or town in the Commonwealth; or moving within the same city or town in the Commonwealth.

Penalties for Non-Compliance:

A sex offender required to register who knowingly: (i) fails to register; (ii) fails to verify registration information; (iii) fails to provide notice of a change of address; or (iv) who knowingly provides false information shall be punished.  A first conviction shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than six months and not more than two and one-half years in a house of correction nor more than five years in a state prison or by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by both such fine and imprisonment.  A second and subsequent conviction shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not less than five years.

Confidentiality Provision:

As long as the information was obtained in accordance with the law, there is no prohibition against the information being shared with others.  Information contained in the sex offender registry shall not be used to commit a crime against a sex offender or to engage in illegal discrimination or harassment of an offender.  Any person who uses information disclosed for such purpose shall be punished by not more than two and one-half years in a house of correction or by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by both such fine and imprisonment.


Inside Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Massachusetts