Offenders required to register are anyone convicted of the following offenses and whose date of offense occurred on or after April 14, 1994, must register and such registration becomes public record: rape, (aggravated) and/or indecent liberties with a child, (aggravated) and/or criminal sodomy, (aggravated) and/or indecent solicitation of a child, sexual exploitation of a child, and aggravated sexual battery. Anyone convicted of the following offenses on or after April 14, 1994, must register, and if date of offense occurred on or after July 1, 1997, such registration becomes public record: sexual battery and aggravated incest. Anyone convicted of the following offenses on or after July 1, 1997, must register, and if date of offense occurred on or after July 1, 1997, such registration becomes public record: capital murder, first degree murder, second degree murder, voluntary (and involuntary) manslaughter, kidnapping (except by a parent), aggravated kidnapping, criminal restraint (except by a parent) when the victim is less than 18 years of age, adultery, criminal sodomy, promoting prostitution, patronizing a prostitute, lewd and lascivious unlawful sexual conduct when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age. Those convicted of Unlawful Manufacture of or attempting such of any controlled substance, Possession of Precursors with intent to Manufacture a Controlled Substance, and Unlawful Sale of Distribution of a Controlled Substance.
Information collected includes fingerprints, social security number, photograph, current address, telephone number, vehicle information, employment information, email addresses, drivers license information, demographic information, conviction information and additional relevant information not including information identifying the victim.
Erik Wood, Section Chief – 785-296-2841. Kansas Bureau of Investigation.
Kansas Bureau of Investigation , Department of Corrections and local law enforcement, county sheriff.
Timeframe for Registration:
Upon release or parole from correctional institution or upon commencement of a sentence of intermediate punishment or probation; within 10 days of changing address; within 10 days of moving to another state.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
Failure to register, failure to udpate the registration or any other violation of the Kansas Offender Registration Act is a Severity Level Five (5) person Felony.
Social security numbers and drivers license information on the offenders is not considered open to the public.