Offenders required to register are adult and juvenile sex offenders convicted in the state of Colorado on or after July 1, 1991 for sex offenses against children, on or after July 1, 1994 for all sex offenses.
Information collected includes fingerprints, (fingerprint cards are produced in the state of Colorado), photo, other identifying information including place of employment, registered vehicles, and employment or attendance at institutions of post-secondary education.
Judy Kinyon (303) 239-4222
State Department of Investigation, local law enforcement.
Timeframe for Registration:
Within 7 days of becoming a temporary or permanent resident; 7 days of changing address.
Duration of Requirement:
Sexually violent predators must re-register quarterly for life. Class , 2, or 3 felony 20 years from the date of final release from court jurisdiction. Class 4, 5, or 6 felony 10 years from the date of final release from court jurisdiction.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
If the offender is convicted of a felony sex offense, felony failure to register charges are filed, if sex offense for which offender is required to register was a misdemeanor, misdemeanor charges are filed for failure to register.
No (except nonfeasance, etc.)