Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Arizona

Offenders required to register are persons who have been convicted of a violation or attempted violation of any of the following offenses or who have been convicted of an offense committed in another jurisdiction which if committed in this state would be a violation or attempted violation of any of the following offenses or an offense that was in effect before September 1, 1978 and that, if committed on or after September 1, 1978, has the same elements of an offense listed in this section or who is required to register by the convicting jurisdiction, within ten days after the conviction or within ten days after entering and remaining in any county of this state, register with the sheriff of that county: Unlawful imprisonment if the victim is under eighteen years of age and the unlawful imprisonment was not committed by the child’s parent; Kidnapping if the victim is under eighteen years of age and the kidnapping was not committed by the child’s parent; Sexual abuse if the victim is under eighteen years of age; Sexual conduct with a minor; Sexual assault; Sexual assault of a spouse if the offense was committed before August 12, 2005; Molestation of a child; Continuous sexual abuse of a child; Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution; Child prostitution; Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor; Luring a minor for sexual exploitation; Sex trafficking of a minor; A second or subsequent violation of indecent exposure to a person under the age of fifteen years; A second or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency to a minor under the age of fifteen years; A third or subsequent violation of indecent exposure; A third or subsequent violation of public sexual indecency, Failure to register. Unlawful age misrepresentation. Aggravated Luring of a minor for sexual exploitation.

Information collected includes Fingerprints, photo, DNA sample, all known names, any online identifiers and the name of any website where the identifiers are being used.

Contact Person:

Department of Public Safety Sex Offender Compliance Unit (Phone) 602-255-0611; (Fax) 602-223-2949.

Administrating Agency:

State Department of Public Safety. The county sheriff is responsible for registering sex offenders living within their county.

Timeframe for Registration:

New out of state offender: Within 10 days of entering state.

Change of address between counties: Within 10 days.

Upon release from prison: Within 10 days.

All registrations must be completed in person, on a sex offender registration form.

Time frames listed exclude weekends and legal holidays.

Penalties for Non-Compliance:

A person who is subject to registration and who fails to comply is guilty of a class 4 felony.

Confidentiality Provision:

Information is considered criminal history; violation of confidentiality is a felony.

http://www.azsexoffender.com/


Inside Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Arizona