Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Alabama

Offenders required to register are persons convicted, incarcerated, and released for offenses such as rape in the first or second degree, sodomy in the first or second degree, sexual torture, sexual abuse, or incest when offender is 20 years old or older and the victim is under the age of 18.

Information collected includes name, address, sex, age, physical description, current photograph, and a statement of the sex crime or crimes for which the offender has completed sentence, date of release and DNA sample.

Contact Person:

Contact Person: Anyone employee of the SOR or Lesia Baldwin (334) 353-1172

Administrating Agency:

State Department of Public Safety, local law enforcement.

Timeframe for Registration:

Within 7 days of release; 30 days of changing address.

Applies to Out of State Offenders:

Yes. Annual and Bi-annual.

Penalties for Non-Compliance: Felony – 1 to 10 years imprisonment and up to $1,000 fine.

Notification by mail and by posting copy of mailed notice in a prominent place at city hall and police station closest to declared residence of released offender. Extent of notification dependent upon population density in area of offenders residence: notification to all persons with residences within 1,500 feet of offender in all other cities with a resident population of 5,000 or more; notification to all persons with residences within 2,000 feet of offender in all other municipalities with a resident population of less than 5,000; notification within 1,000 feet in Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville and Montgomery.

Confidentiality Provision: No

http://community.dps.alabama.gov/


Inside Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- Alabama