South Dakota

Code Section
22-42-6, et seq.; 34-20B-1 to 114

Possession
Under 2 oz.: Class 1 misdemeanor; 2 oz. to .5 lb.: Class 6 felony; .5 to 1 lb.: Class 5 felony; 1to 10 lbs.: Class 4 felony; Over 10 lbs.: Class 3 felony; May be civil penalty for violation up to $10,000 in any of the above cases

Sale
Under .5 oz. or without consideration: Class 1 misdemeanor; Under 1 oz.: Class 6 felony; 1 oz.-.5 lb.: Class 5 felony; .5-1 lb.: Class 4 felony; Over 1 lb.: Class 3 felony; Sale to a minor: Class 4 felony; Sale in drug-free zone: Class 4 felony, minimum 5 yrs. Also may be civil penalty up to $10,000 in any of above cases; All felonies: mandatory 30 days without suspension; Subsequent offense: mandatory 1 yr.

Trafficking
None


Inside South Dakota