Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification- South Carolina
Offender required to register are adults and juveniles convicted of certain sex and other offenses.
Information collected includes name, photo, address and statement of crime.
Captain Andrew Jordan, South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (803) 737-9000.
South Carolina Law Enforcement Division, Department of Corrections, Department of Probation and Parole; Department of Juvenile Justice, 46 county sheriffs, Department of Motor Vehicles and Federal agencies.
Timeframe for Registration:
Within 1 business day of release; 1 business day of sentencing; 10 days of entering state; 10 days of changing address; 10 days of moving out of the state; 10 days for juveniles not confined to a juvenile justice authority.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
First offense: misdemeanor, with mandatory 90 days sentence. Second offense: misdemeanor, with mandatory 1-year sentence. Third offense: felony, with 1-5 year sentence, 3 years mandatory without probation or suspension.